I have an obsession. Not an unhealthy one but a healthy obsession… Even more so than avocado…. It’s chai tea! I can drink it every day and it’s even more delish in milkshake form. So I’ve seen lots of complicated recipes for cupcakes but this morning I had little time and very little ingredients. The wonderful thing about chai teabags is that they have all the essential spices in the bag to make a very tasty treat. So I thought I’d try to simplify the recipes a bit.

vanilla chai cupcakes/muffin…. Single serving!

3 T whole wheat pastry flour

1T cream cheese (I did this in place of the usual applesauce and to sweeten it a little. If fat free is your goal use cinnamon applesauce)

3-4 T chai infused milk of choice

2 chai tea bags

1T plus 1tsp agave

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 or 1/2 tsp vanilla depending on how vanilla tasting you want cupcake

Can add:

1/4 tsp of ginger
Spinkling of black pepper for a little extra bite

*these can be made in a coffee cup in a microwave if short on time!

In a small saucepan bring some milk and 2 tea bags (any extra can be used to make a chai milkshake or latte!) to a simmer. Heat until chai tea steeps completely and is a caramel color.

If baking preheat oven to 330 degrees. Prep muffin pan or coffee cup.

Add all ingredient ingredients and mix completely then add wet. Add enough milk/tea mixture to get muffin or cupcake consistency you want. Once completely combine pour into prepped coffee cup or pan.

Bake about 12-15 minutes or microwave for about a minute and a half. And enjoy!

Extra chai can also be used to make a cream cheese spice frosting! I will post a few frosting recipes later on. I’m on my way to the zoo for fathers day now.

Happy fathers day to all the daddies out there! Have a great day!

20120617-125441.jpg

