Class is finishing up and between that and 2 jobs I’ve been running on empty and so has my kitchen. On top of all that my little one has been sick the last 3 weeks and it’s been occupying my time but tonight I needed to scour the kitchen for something to make for dinner. Polenta is always an easy base since its so fast to make and versatile and Ava wanted Mac and cheese so I made a vegan version with broccoli and lentils for a bit more protein. It took about an hour to make everything but was so filling and I have lunch for myself and Ava tomorrow too!

In other news I’ve decided I need to go on a serious diet and exercise regiment. I already work out 3-4 times a week and I eat mostly healthy. None of my recipes have much fat in them if any and for the most part I eat very few preservatives. Any advice is welcome to get over this hump I’ve hit. PLEASE!

Now for the recipes:

Start with the spicy lentil soup recipe since this will take the most amount of time to cook. I added a rouge of equal parts of water and cornmeal to thicken the soup to almost a chowder consistency and added baby carrots.

Mac and “cheese” with broccoli.
Boil water for elbow whole wheat pasta 1 1/2 pounds for the recipe with a bit of sea salt. Once the water boils add pasta and begin steaming broccoli in a steamer or a pot with about an inch of water and salt and pepper. I added a bit of cayenne for a bite. We like our spice!
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Cheese sauce:
1 1/2 cup plain Silk almond milk
Little less than 1 c water
1/3 c soy sauce
1 T paprika
1 T garlic powder ( or a bit of fresh garlic if you like texture)
Pinch of salt
3 oz firm tofu
1 c canola oil
2 tsp mustard
1 1/2 c nutritional yeast

In a blender add all ingredients. Once pasta and broccoli is cooked add all to casserole pan and pour cheese mixture to it and bake 15 minutes until top is browned.
Feel free to add spice if you want. I added cayenne to mine as well 😃.

For the polenta I toasted the quick cool polenta and added just enough broth to combine and then about 1/8 c of almond milk once thickened I added a few tsp of sesame oil and soy sauce, garlic salt, pepper, and cayenne. (I tend to go overboard with the pepper). The beauty of polenta is that you can do so much with it.

Recipes coming this week: chocolate hazelnut coffee cake, chocolate truffles, Irish potatoes. To celebrate the Irish in all of us on St. Patty’s day a wonderful festive drink recipe!

20120313-225820.jpg

20120313-225857.jpg

20120313-225929.jpg

For the diet front this is where I’m at now. I’m a size 6 and I’m trying to get down to a 2. I’d say I’d like to be 115-120 but because I work out weight is less important than toned and size.

20120313-230149.jpg
Sorry no make up today. I look a hot mess. Oh well… Advice please!!!

