I forgot my lunch this morning in my mad rush out the door because I took too long making breakfast… Which I do not regret doing! So I had to run out and get lunch today at a convenience store by my work called WaWa… Great food not many vegan friendly options so I got what I call a condiment sandwich. Every veggie you can put on a lunch meat sandwich on bread. They have avocado now though so that makes it doable. My friend got a new soup they came out with that sounded good in theory but was both full of meat as cheese and fattening. You couldn’t smell the bacon so it smelled good and I wanted to make myself a vegan version tonight. This is what I came up with.

20120213-235102.jpg

4 med to large potatoes
1/2 medium onion
1 tsp to tablespoon garlic power or 1/2 tsp minced garlic
2 cans veggie broth
1 cup nondairy milk of choice
Vegan bacon crumbles
Vegan shredded cheese ( I used a blend)
Salt and pepper to taste
Cilantro to taste

Boil veggie broth and add potatoes and onions. You can sauté onions and garlic first in olive oil if you’d like but you don’t have to. Add milk and spices and cook until potatoes are soft. Add bacon bits and simmer to soften an allow soup to absorb taste. Blend completely in a blender and return to low heat. Stir in shredded cheese until melted and salt and pepper to taste. Then enjoy!

You can also add vegan sour cream if you feel so inclined.

