This was the first time I have ever made polenta. I will start out by saying I have never ever liked the taste of grits so I was worried while making this but the taste is so much better than grits without all the fat you have to add to that southern dish to make it even have a taste. Sorry to the grits lovers but I blame it on the fact that one bite would literally kill me (I am deathly allergic to dairy). I don’t measure when I cook and wasn’t originally planning on posting this recipe so a lot of this will really be up to you it’s by your taste buds.

3 cups veggie broth
1 cup yellow corn polenta
A hand full of vegan shredded cheese
Cayanne pepper
Garlic powder
Onion powder

Boil broth until completely boiling and turn down to a simmer. Slowly pour in polenta stirring the entire time. Do not stop stirring/whisking until polenta thickens. While hot add cheese and stir. Then add pepper,garlic, and onion powders. This was a very quick meal I would use actual garlic and onion and sauté them before cooking the polenta.

The polenta will be very pliable. When I made it I just ate it as a side dish and then the next day I used it as a “bowl” lined a regular bowl and had my spicy lentil soup in it. So good!

20120131-220842.jpg

20120131-220852.jpg

