One of my best friends came over for a girls night and she is on a diet. She begged me for one of my little treats to help control her sweet tooth and not affect her diet. She loves brownies and I hasn’t really tried to create my own recipe yet and only had silken tofu, which wouldn’t give a thick enough brownie texture. So I decided to add peanut butter to the mix to make them thick and fluffy.

2 c cocoa
2 T peanut butter
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 c flour
Pinch of cinnamon (to taste)
1/8 block of silken tofu ( for former brownies use firm tofu)
1/3 cup of applesauce
2T oil (olive coconut or canola)
2T nondairy milk
1tsp vanilla
Optional: chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 and prep mini muffin pan. Mix dry ingredients well and then mix wet ingredients in a blender or magic bullet (my godsend!) then mix wet into dry. Pour into pans and bake 15 min or until knife or tooth pick comes out clean.

These were so good and light! She ate 9 of them! I’d like to add that my friend is not a veggie but has like everything I had made and since I’ve been helping her with her diet has lost a good 10 pounds! I’m so proud of her.

20120122-125711.jpg

