I gave up caffine and “junk” food for the new year so I’ve had a headache all week and craing sweets. I don’t eat bad food often but as soon as you say I can’t have this you want it… And soda was my headache remedy so I’ve also had a migraine all week! This recipe is definitely for chocolate lovers without all the bad fats that comes with a normal store bought muffin. My daughter and I are in agreement that this was delish! This was inspired by the single girl muffin recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie (great vegan blog)

chocolate peanut butter muffin

3 T flour
1 T cocoa power of choice
1/2 tsp peanut butter (preferably natural)
1/4 tsp baking powder
Pinch of Salt
1T plus 1 tsp non dairy milk add a little more for cupcake like texture.
1T applesauce
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
Add sweetener to taste (1T should be plenty. I did sugar free for mine the glaze added more than enough sweetness for me.)

Preheat oven to 330 degrees and prep muffin pan for your single muffin. Combine dry ingredients well then add wet. Batter will have an almost mouse like texture. Bake for about 13-15 minutes.

**i made these last night and omitted the applesauce and used 5T plus 2tsp of almond milk (add until mouse like texture) and they turned out like a brownie texture and tasted like peanut butter fudge
dark chocolate glaze

1T special dark cocoa
1T sugar
1T non dairy milk

Combine till cocoa and sugar are totally Dissolved in milk and microwave for 30 seconds. Stir till smooth and drizzle over muffin.

I put mine in the fridge and let everything cool and then enjoyed until I went into a chocolate coma! I hope you enjoy this healthy yet sweet treat!

20120107-132247.jpg

