My fiancé went out with his friend tonight so I just had to cook for my daughter and myself. I kind of look forward to these nights because I can slowly turn her on to vegan alternatives. I won’t force her to become vegan but I would love it if she were. She’s only two so she has a ways to go before she can really make up her mind herself. Tonight I threw together a tasty soup. I need to go food shopping so there wasn’t much to choose from.

Creamless Creamy Potato and Leek Soup

3 medium potatoes
1 leek
3 cups vegetable broth
2 tablespoons rice milk
1 tablespoon minced garlic
Half a small onion
Sea salt and pepper
2 fresh rosemary leaves
2 tablespoons olive oil

Cut up peeled potatoes and cut up into small sections to boil in a seperate bowl about 10 minutes. Meanwhilecut up the white and light green portion of leeks and mince into small pieces. in a medium soup pot sauté leeks and onion until onions become translucent and add garlic. Sauté one more minute and add stock/ broth and potatoes. Once it comes to a boil add rice milk and cover lower heat to a simmer for about 20 minutes. Add sea salt and pepper to taste (I like mine spicy so I also added chili pepper). Make sure potatoes are soft and transfer to a blender. Blend till smooth. Pour soup back into pot and simmer another 5 or 10 minutes. Soup will be thick and creamy with a velvety texture. It was very filling!

I only made enough for myself and Ava (my daughter). Feel free to double recipe for leftovers 🙂

Till next post! Good night!

20120104-202052.jpg

20120104-202129.jpg

